Review: Sum 41 – 13 Voices

Canadian rock band Sum 41 are back with their brand-new, sixth full-length album 13 Voices via Hopeless Records. The ten-track record follows their 2011’s Screaming Bloody MurderSum 41 includes frontman Deryck Whibley, lead guitarist Dave “Brownsound” Baksh, co-lead guitarist Tom Thacker, bassist Cone McCaslin and drummer Frank Zummo.


13 Voices was recorded at the time when Whibley was on the road to recovery from a near-death encounter from alcoholism and re-starting his life, putting light on the level of emotion, dissimilar to their previous albums.

Although it feels fresh and it’s their comeback record, Sum 41 have a lot to live up to – especially as this year as Green Day have made a return to the music industry. This album lacks happy songs, dealing with meaningful and deep personal topics.


But despite the lack of the ‘happy’ vibe they’ve been known for in the past, their new themes throughout the album are passionate and fiery. Each tune is radio-friendly compared to their older material. This kind of takes away the rawness and grit they are usually known for. Having said that, there are a few curveballs; heaviness and some upbeat sounds in a certain balance with the emotionally draining and weighty feeling throughout the record. They have broken the chains of unoriginality; we’ve heard their new sound before, but not like this.

On ‘Goddamn I’m Dead Again’, the guitar solo and riffs are phenomenal as they come out of nowhere, surprising the listener. The drumming lives up to its prior expectations. The melodies and choruses are catchy, the combination of the instrumentals with the violins are amazing on this record. ‘Fake My Own Death’ is metal-inspired modern rock with a great rebound chorus.

13 Voices hits the listeners harder than ever with the dramatic and life-altering experiences. This could be their most sincere and honest album to date. Sum 41 are legends to the punk rock scene.


Album Track Listing

  1. A Murder of Crows (You’re All Dead To Me)
  2. Goddamn I’m Dead Again
  3. Fake My Own Death
  4. Breaking The Chain
  5. There Will Be Blood
  6. 13 Voices
  7. War
  8. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
  9. The Fall And The Rise
  10. Twisted By Design

Words by Danielle Holian


What do YOU guys think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s